Natebu and Processing

I finally managed to upload a new movie about the data visualisation. One of the Natebu boards is connected to a mac that is running a Processing sketch. This bar chart was just for debugging. The door is now open to all kind of Processing applications.

11 Responses to “Natebu and Processing”

  1. Bill Says:

    Pretty cool. What was the tool you used to display the bar graph? Was that custom or some 3rd party tool?

  2. natebu Says:

    Hi Bill
    I used Processing to write some custom code.
    If you don’t know Processing go check it out. Its quite easy and you can do amaing stuff. http://www.processing.org/

  3. c.moore Says:

    processing is awsome… as is your sensor.. alot like Microsoft’s Thinsight correct?

    I wonder if any of my p5 code would be helpful to your team..

    Keep up the good work

  4. Andrew Says:

    What processor did you use for this? I am trying to do a similar project with an Arduino board if you have any sugestions it would help a lot. Great work on the processing sketch

  5. natebu Says:

    I also used an Arduino too.
    Or did you mean the computer? That’s a macBook Core 2.
    There is quite a lot of information about the project in the other blog postings.
    Let me know when you have any specific questions.

  6. beart Says:

    Can you measure the distance between a “pixel” and an obstacle? And what is the sensibility (10cm, 1m, etc)?

    I really like your works, I’ve just discovered it passing by the microcontent part of the Digital tools blog… I was wondering do you use sound too?

  7. beart Says:

    Another question… Do you encode the IR signal in order to avoid parasites or there are not that much parasites?

  8. natebu Says:

    Hello Beart

    A single board could indeed be a nice sound interface. I’m not that much of a sound guy so I haven’t done anything yet.

    Yes measuring the distance to an object works quite well.
    With good conditions (no other ir-light) to a range of about 50cm.
    Because it worked well in the prototype the IR signal is not modulated but it is planed to do this in a next version.

  9. Mark Says:

    Hey, I was just looking on youtube and noticed your amazing interactive LED board. I’m really really impressed! I thought you might find my toy to be cute: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Ib32us2b0g

    What do you think about using capacitive proximity sensors in place of your IR sensors?

  10. Mattins Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Mattins.

  11. whzdmb Says:

    Whoa, this is incredible!!! I too stumbled across your site by accident, but I’m sure glad I did! I’m very curious; do you have any pointers for a beginner at Processing and at circuitry to build something as incredible as this? And… As far as I could gather, the Arduino board is the thing that connects the computer to your board… Could you explain how you did that? Any help would be greatly appreciated! I can’t wait to see more! (I just subscribed to your blog!)

    Thanks so much!!!
    ~J6M8

Leave a Reply

